skip to main content
Search: Keyword:
 
Assignments View previous assignments
FILTER BY SUBJECT:
Fri. Jan. 24
Due Date: 1/24/2020
Subject: English 8

Complete 2019 2nd Quarter Benchmark

Complete 2020 2nd Quarter Benchmark



Wed. Jan. 15
Due Date: 1/15/2020
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Introduce affixes

IA:  Skills Review



Mon. Jan. 9
Due Date: 1/9/2020
Subject: English 8

Editing Bell Ringer

Thesis statement with three main ideas #1-5



Wed. Jan. 8
Due Date: 1/8/2020
Subject: English 8

Writing Assessment 



Wed. Jan. 8
Due Date: 1/8/2020
Subject: English 8

Writing Assessment 



Fri. Dec. 6
Due Date: 12/6/2019
Subject: English 8

Complete MAP Testing

Begin Novel Study



Thurs. Dec. 5
Due Date: 12/5/2019
Subject: English 8

MAP Testing



Wed. Dec. 4
Due Date: 12/4/2019
Subject: English 8

MAP Testing



Tues. Dec. 3
Due Date: 12/3/2019
Subject: English 8

MAP Testing - Reading



Mon. Dec. 2
Due Date: 12/2/2019
Subject: English 8

MAP Test Review



Fri. Nov. 22
Due Date: 11/22/2019
Subject: English 8

List #6 affix/ root Quiz

Create a card for the soldiers

Skill Review Game



Thurs. Nov. 21
Due Date: 11/21/2019
Subject: English 8

Bell Ringer;  Synonyms

Review affix/root List#6:  Quiz Friday

Lesson 27 Test

Reading Test p. 534-546

 



Wed., Nov. 20
Due Date: 11/20/2019
Subject: English 8

Bell Ringer: Paragraph Editing

Review List #6 affix/root:  Quiz Friday

Review Vocabulary p. 534

Complete Vocabulary Builder #1-10

Lesson 27 Test Thursday

Text Book p. 534-546:  Test Thursday



Tues. Nov. 19
Due Date: 11/19/2019
Subject: English 8

Bell Ringer:  Synonyms

Review Affix/Root List #6 - Quiz Fri.

Complete and Review Study Guide: "Forest Fires," "Why Leaves Change Color in the Fall," and "The Season's Curmudgeon" p. 543 - Test Thursday

Collect Lesson 27 Packets - Test Thursday

 



Mon. Nov. 18
Due Date: 11/18/2019
Subject: English 8

Bell Ringer:  Synonyms

Read "The Season's Curmudgeon" p. 545 - Test Thursday

Complete Lesson 27 Packets - Test Thursday

CARS - Pretest 3 #1-12



Mon. Nov.11
Due Date: 11/11/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Review affix/root List #5 - Quiz Wed.

Define vocabulary p. 534

Read p. 535 - 546 ("Forest Fire" "Why Leaves Change Their Color in the Fall" "The Season's Curmudgeon"

Answer Critical Thinking questions after each passage

 



Fri. Nov. 8
Due Date: 11/8/2019
Subject: English 8

Editing Bell Ringer

Type Final Copy



Thurs. Nov. 7
Due Date: 11/7/2019
Subject: English 8

Editing Bell Ringer

Complete rough draft, edit



Wed. Nov. 6
Due Date: 11/6/2019
Subject: English 8

Editing Bell Ringer

Prompt #12 (Quote: Aesop)

Write brainstorm and begin rough draft



Fri. Nov. 1
Due Date: 11/1/2019
Subject: English 8

Review Lesson 7, Collect packets - Take Quiz

Review root/affix List #4 - Take Test

IA Exam 



Thurs. Oct. 31
Due Date: 10/31/2019
Subject: English 8

Lesson 7 Packets p. 84- Dues Thurs.; Quiz Fri.

Review root/affix List #4  - Test Fri.

Complete Plot Diagram

 



Wed. Oct. 30
Due Date: 10/30/2019
Subject: English 8

Review root/affix List #4 - Test Fri.

Open Book Test: "Adventures of the Speckled Band" p. 122

Lesson 7 Packets p. 83 - Due Thurs.; Quiz Fri. 



Tues. Oct. 29
Due Date: 10/29/2019
Subject: English 8

Review root/affix  Lists #1-3

Review root/affix list #4 - Test Friday

Lesson 7 Packets p. 82 - Due Thursday; Quiz Friday

IA skills review 



Mon. Oct. 28
Due Date: 10/28/2019
Subject: English 8

Complete Final Copy of "Halloween Stories" (revise/submit)

Review root/affix list#4 - test Friday

 



Fri. Oct. 25
Due Date: 10/25/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Type Final Copy:  Pearson Realize



Thursday, Oct. 24
Due Date: 10/24/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Complete Rough Draft

Begin Editing



Wed. Oct. 23
Due Date: 10/23/2019
Subject: English 8

Creative Writing:Brainstorm and Begin Rough Draft

Book Fair



Tues. Oct. 22
Due Date: 10/22/2019
Subject: English 8

CIP Benchmark

 



Mon. Oct. 21
Due Date: 10/21/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

1st Qtr. Benchmark Review

CIP Benchmark: Tuesday



Fri. Oct. 18
Due Date: 10/18/2019
Subject: English 8

paragraph Editing

Continue reading part 2 of "The Adventures of the Speckled Band"

Vocabulary Review

Answer Critical Thinking Questions p. 152



Thurs. Oct. 17
Due Date: 10/17/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Skill Review:  Tone, Personal Pronouns, Author's Purpose, Mood



Wed. Oct. 16
Due Date: 10/16/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Review Vocabulary/ Word Study p. 120

Read "The Adventures of the Speckled Band" p. 122-152

Complete Vocabulary Builder handout

Complete critical thinking questions p. 152



Tues. Oct. 15
Due Date: 10/15/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Define Vocabulary/ Word Study p. 120

Read "The Adventures of the Speckled Band" p. 122-152



Mon., Oct. 14
Due Date: 10/14/2019
Subject: English 8

Set up Clever accounts (GMS webpage):  Practice skills for upcoming benchmark.



Fri. Oct. 11
Due Date: 10/11/2019
Subject: English 8

Root / Affix List #1-3 Test

Define and create a foldable for figurative language

Find figurative language in sample poetry



Thursday, Oct. 10
Due Date: 10/10/2019
Subject: English 8

Character Trait Review / Complete Handout

Principal Parts of Irregular Verbs Review / Complete Handout

Affix / Root (jur, jud, trans, auto) Quiz

Introduce Figurative Language Vocabulary



Wed. Oct 9
Due Date: 10/9/2019
Subject: English 8

Test -"Tell-Tale Heart" (open book)

Library



Tues. Oct. 8
Due Date: 10/8/2019
Subject: English 8

Complete p. 283 of prefix / root packet (jur, jud, auto, trans) - Due Thurs. / Test Thurs. 

Review vocabulary p. 292

Read "Tell-Tale Heart" p. 295-303 - Test Wed.

Test Fri. - Affix/Root List #1-3

 



Mon. Oct. 7
Due Date: 10/7/2019
Subject: English 8

Lesson 25 Packet p. 282 (understanding words, rewriting definitions)

Review Vocabulary/comprehension "Tell-Tale Heart" p. 292--302

p. 303:  Compare/Contrast, Character Trait, Vocabulary

Test Wed.: "Tell-Tale Heart"



Fri. Sept 27
Due Date: 9/27/2019
Subject: English 8

Fall Writing Assessment:  Multiple Choice Part 2 (Make-Up)

Quotations - IA



Thurs. Sept. 26
Due Date: 9/26/2019
Subject: English 8

Fall Writing Assessment:  Multiple Choice Part 2



Wed. Sept. 25
Due Date: 9/25/2019
Subject: English 8

Fall Writing Assessment:  Make-Ups, LIBRARY



Tues. Sept. 24
Due Date: 9/24/2019
Subject: English 8

Fall Writing Prompt: Type Final Copy



Mon. Sept. 23
Due Date: 9/23/2019
Subject: English 8

Fall Writing Assessment: brainstorm, rough draft, edit



Fri. Sept. 20
Due Date: 9/20/2019
Subject: English 8

Review Root/Affix : Quiz #1-10

Type Final Copy 

Complete Unit 1 Grammar Review on IA



Thurs.Sept. 19
Due Date: 9/19/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Writing:  Practice Prompt - complete editing, write final copy



Wed. Sept. 18
Due Date: 9/18/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Review Roots/Affix

Writing:  Practice Prompt - complete rough draft (five paragraphs), begin editing



Tues. Sept. 17
Due Date: 9/17/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Review Roots/Affix

Writing:  Practice Prompt - complete brainstorm, begin rough draft (five paragraphs)



Mon. Sept. 16
Due Date: 9/16/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Introduce List #2 (Roots/Affix) - Quiz Fri.

Writing:  Practice Prompt - Brainstorm



Fri. Sept. 13
Due Date: 9/13/2019
Subject: English 8

Complete capitalization in writing coach books / Review answers

Review Quotations / Practice Examples

Affix/Root Quiz

Complete Capitalization Rules / Practice

 



Thurs. Sept. 12
Due Date: 9/12/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Review Genres / Practice All-in-One workbook p. 8-9

Writing Coach Books: p. 606-608 (Capitalization)

Quiz Friday:  List #1 affix/roots

 



Wed. Sept. 11
Due Date: 9/11/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Variety of Genres (VA SOL workbook)

Quiz:  Multiple Meaning Words, Connotations/Denotations; Synonyms, Antonyms



Tues. Sept. 10
Due Date: 9/10/2019
Subject: English 8

Paragraph Editing

Connotations/Denotations (VA SOL workbooks):  Quiz Wed.

Review context clues/multiple meaning words

Synonyms/Antonyms  (VA SOL workbooks):  Quiz Wed.



Mon. Sept. 9
Due Date: 9/9/2019
Subject: English 8

Daily Paragraph Editing

Multiple Meaning Words - SOL VA English Workbooks p. 22-27

Introduce and Assign List 1 (affixes/roots):  Quiz Friday



Fri. Sept. 6
Due Date: 9/6/2019
Subject: English 8

Make-up MAP Testing

Writing:   Complete Final Copy for homework - Autumn Jamboree Papers " Thing I like the most about my hometown."  (complete rough draft, editing, final copy):  Due Monday



Thurs. Sept. 5
Due Date: 9/5/2019
Subject: English 8

Make-up MAP Testing

Writing:  Autumn Jamboree Papers " Thing I like the most about my hometown."  (brainstorm, rough draft, editing)



Wed. Sept. 4
Due Date: 9/4/2019
Subject: English 8

MAP Testing



Tues. Sept. 3
Due Date: 9/3/2019
Subject: English 8

MAP Testing



Fri. Aug. 30
Due Date: 8/30/2019
Subject: English 8

"Flowers for Algernon" Test (Open Book)

Inference, Point of View, Verb Tense Quiz



Thurs. Aug. 29
Due Date: 8/29/2019
Subject: English 8

Bell Ringer:  Verb tense review

Finish Reading "Flowers for Algernon"

Complete open response questions and essay questions (whole group) - Use as study guide for test

Test Friday - "Flowers for Algernon" p. 344-380

Quiz Friday: Point of View, Inference, Verb Tense 



Wed. Aug 28
Due Date: 8/28/2019
Subject: English 8

Bell Ringer:  Point of View Review questions #1-3

Skill/Grammar handout review (point of view, inference, verb tense) - Quiz Fri.

Continue reading "Flowers for Algernon"  - Test Friday

**Library**



Tues. Aug. 27
Due Date: 8/27/2019
Subject: English 8

Bell ringer:  Inferences - Read details #1-3 and write an inference 

Review Point of View (First/Third)

Review Vocabulary p. 344 in textbook "Flowers for Algernon"

"Flowers for Algernon" Test Friday (open book)

Quiz Friday: inference, point of view, verb tense



Mon. Aug. 26
Due Date: 8/26/2019
Subject: English 8

"Flowers for Algernon" video

Compare/contrast novel to video - Discuss as whole group



Fri. Aug. 23
Due Date: 8/23/2019
Subject: English 8

Lesson 28 Vocabulary review game (spec, a, an)

Lesson 28 Quiz - Students use dictionary and thesaurus to complete

Extra Credit is offered for Quiz



Thurs. Aug. 22
Due Date: 8/22/2019
Subject: English 8

Lesson 28 Packets due - Quiz Friday (spec, a, an)

Analogies using spec, a, an

Review part 2 of "Flowers for Algernon" / Complete and Discuss

Complete Vocabulary Builder handout.  Use textbook p. 344-380 to complete. - Due Friday

 



Wed. Aug. 21
Due Date: 8/21/2019
Subject: English 8

Root / Prefix handout (front/ back)

  • Using vocabulary on p. 314, Complete p. 317 (fill in the blank, T/F)
  • Due Thursday
  • Quiz Friday

Write a paragraph using five spec root words

Review:  vocabulary, inference, Point of view (1st/3rd person), verb tense (past, present, future)

Comprehension review  "Flowers for Algernon" p.343-357  

First Read:  "Flowers for Algernon" p.357-373 



Tues. Aug. 20
Due Date: 8/20/2019
Subject: English 8

Root / Prefix handout (front/ back)

  • Using vocabulary on p. 314, Complete p. 316 (crossword, synonyms/antonyms)
  • Due Thursday
  • Quiz Friday

Review vocabulary "Flowers for Algernon" p.343

Review:  inference, Point of view (1st/3rd person), verb tense (past, present, future), dialogue, summary of an article.

Complete Plot Diagram (label/define)

First Read:  "Flowers for Algernon" p.343-357 



Monday, Aug. 19
Due Date: 8/19/2019
Subject: English 8

Root / Prefix handout (front/ back)

  • Using vocabulary on p. 314, Complete p. 315 (understanding words and rewriting definitions)
  • Due Thursday
  • Quiz Friday

Introduce vocabulary "Flowers for Algernon" p.343

Introduce reading skill:  Inference

Review:  Point of view (1st/3rd person), verb tense (past, present, future), dialogue, summary of an article.

 

 



Thurs. April 18
Due Date: 4/18/2019
Subject: English 6

Drawing Conclusions Bell Ringer

SOL Review Unit 6 Lesson 3 #1-13

CARS Benchmark 3 #1-12



Wed. April 17
Due Date: 4/17/2019
Subject: English 6

Main Idea Bell Ringer

Unit 6 Lesson 2 SOL Review

Test Ready Lesson 6



Tues. April 16
Due Date: 4/16/2019
Subject: English 6

Main Idea Bell Ringer

Unit 6 Lesson 1 SOL Review

Test Ready Lesson 5



Mon. April 15
Due Date: 4/15/2019
Subject: English 6

Author's Purpose Bell Ringer

MAP Testing



Fri. April 12
Due Date: 4/12/2019
Subject: English 6

CARS Skills Review - Benchmark 1 #1-12

SOL Review Unit 5 Lesson 5 #1-12



Thurs April 11
Due Date: 4/11/2019
Subject: English 6

Cause and effect bell ringer #1-8

Unit 5 Lesson 4 SOL Review #1-20



Wed. April 10
Due Date: 4/10/2019
Subject: English 6

Drawing Conclusions Bell Ringer

Review CARS Pretest 5 #1-12 (SOL Review)

SOL Review Unit 5 Lesson 3 "The Dynasty of Kamehaeha"#1-21

MAP Test Monday



Tues. April 9
Due Date: 4/9/2019
Subject: English 6

Main Idea Bell Ringer - Read passage, answer questions #1-3

SOL Review 5.2 "Lonesome Valley" #1-22

CARS Pretest 5 #1-8

 



Thurs. April 4
Due Date: 4/4/2019
Subject: English 6

Figurative Language Review handout #1-14

Review poetry and figurative language vocabulary

Quiz:  Figurative Language vocabulary / Poetry

*Test Friday

 



Tues. April 2
Due Date: 4/2/2019
Subject: English 6

Which is it?  Simile or Metaphor review #1-10

Figurative Language review

Quiz Thursday / Test Friday



Mon. April 1
Due Date: 4/1/2019
Subject: English 6

Figurative Language Vocabulary Review

Watch video "Sneetches" by Dr. Suess on You Tube

Read "The Sneetches" by Dr. Suess / Discuss Theme

Complete handouts for "Sneetches" p. 1-2 (front / back)



Mon. March 25
Due Date: 3/25/2019
Subject: English 6

Figurative Language review #1-10

Complete Figurative Language assessment #1-20

Poetry / Figurative Language powerpoint (Review for benchmark tomorrow)

Organizational Patterns and text structures #1-6

Review Graphic Organizers



Tues. March 26
Due Date: 3/25/2019
Subject: English 6

CIP Third Quarter Benchmark



Fri. March 22
Due Date: 3/22/2019
Subject: English 6

Imagery bell ringer #1-4

Define:  Alliteration, Imagery, Simile, Metaphor

Review examples:  Alliteration, Imagery, Simile, Metaphor

Complete assessment activities

Figurative Language review sheet (color the examples)



Wed. March 21
Due Date: 3/21/2019
Subject: English 6

inferences p. 53 Set A-B

Add Idiom to poetry books

You tube:  personification, hyperbole, idiom, onomatopoeia

Activity:   personification, hyperbole, idiom, onomatopoeia



Tues. March 19
Due Date: 3/19/2019
Subject: English 6

Tone Practice Sheet Set A-C

Introduce Limerick's - Add to poetry books

Review and discuss Limerick examples (couplet, triplet)

Complete Limerick review sheet 

Create your own Limerick's on back



Mon. March 18
Due Date: 3/18/2019
Subject: English 6

Introduce Haiku.  Add to poetry book.

Complete Haiku practice sheet. Haikus #1-4 with comprehension questions.

Haiku Collection:  Read four haiku's and complete questions and activities.

Create your own Haiku.

 



Thurs. March 14
Due Date: 3/14/2019
Subject: English 6

Introduce Ballads

"Ballad of William Sycamore"



Wed. March 13
Due Date: 3/13/2019
Subject: English 6

Introduce poetry, create foldable, review and discuss figurative language



Tues., March 5
Due Date: 3/5/2019
Subject: English 6

Complete Prefix/Root Packets - Due Wednesday / Quiz Friday

Review Vocabulary p.396

Read "Water" p. 399-402 / Test Friday



Tues. Feb. 26
Due Date: 2/26/2019
Subject: English 6

Complete "Shutout " Test  (open book)

Complete Extra Credit for Reading

Complete Lesson 17 Root/Suffix Quiz (Use a dictionary and thesaurus)

Research: Baseball Player



Mon. Feb. 25
Due Date: 2/25/2019
Subject: English 6

Review vocabulary and Latin suffix p. 426. 

Read the "Shutout" p. 428-432.

Complete "Shutout" Test (pearsonsuccessnet.com)



Tues. Feb. 19
Due Date: 2/19/2019
Subject: English 6

Tues. Feb. 19:

Bell ringer: Lesson 17 Packet: p. 193. Review root/prefixes and complete crossword, which word does not belong, and synonyms/antonyms.

Review vocabulary and Latin prefix p. 426

Read “The Shutout” p. 426-432

Complete Critical Thinking Questions p. 432

Workbook p. 141 Vocabulary Builder



Wed. Feb. 13
Due Date: 2/13/2019
Subject: English 6

Wed. Feb. 13:

Bell ringer: “A Musical Prodigy” (character, setting, theme) Read the passage and answer questions 1-4 and complete strategy practice.

Comparison and Superlative Adjectives p. 434 in textbook: Complete set A #1-5 and Set B #1-5

Review vocabulary and Latin prefix super- p. 420

Read “Jackie Robinson: Justice at Last” p. 422-424

Complete Open-Response Questions #1-14 (handout)



Tues. Feb. 12
Due Date: 2/12/2019
Subject: English 6

Theme: The Most Powerful Thing in the World – answer 1-4 and strategy practice question

Review vocabulary and Latin prefix p. 420

Read “Jackie Robinson: Justice at Last” p. 420-424

Complete timeline. List nine events that sequentially take place in the story. Use text.

Complete Vocabulary Builder. Workbook p. 137.



Mon. Feb. 11
Due Date: 2/11/2019
Subject: English 6

Bell Ringer: “One School at a Time” (Character and Setting) - Complete #1-4 / Strategy Practice

Define vocabulary and Latin prefix p. 420

Read Meet the Author p. 421

Read “Jackie Robinson: Justice at Last” p. 422-424

Answer critical thinking questions p. 424

Complete workbook p. 135-136



Thurs. Feb. 7
Due Date: 2/7/2019
Subject: English 6

CIP 2nd Qtr. Benchmark (class work)



Wed. Feb. 6
Due Date: 2/6/2019
Subject: English 6

Complete 1-15 Adjective/ Adverb handout / Review answers

Test Ready Lesson 1 p.3 (suffix, root words, synonyms, multiple meaning words)

CIP Unit 6 Assessment (Interactive Achievement)

** 2nd qtr. Benchmark tomorrow

 



Mon. Feb. 4
Due Date: 2/4/2019
Subject: English 6

Make Inference "The Return of the Wolf" - answer questions 1-4 and practice strategy

Organizational Patterns - handout p. 97-98  #9-16

Identify Test Structure 3 (front only)

Adjectives that compare / using more and most - handout p.239-241

 



Wed. Jan. 30
Due Date: 1/30/2019
Subject: English 6

Bell ringer: Character and Setting “One School at a Time”

Interactive Achievement (Tazewell.k12.va.us/ students/ interactive achievement/ CIP Unit 6 assessment)

Organizational Patterns p. 95-96 #1-8



Tues., Jan. 29
Due Date: 1/29/2019
Subject: English 6

Bell ringer: Make inferences “The Return of the Wolf”

Organizational Patterns: p. 97-98 #9-16 (front/back of handout)

Identifying Text structure 3 – Complete front only. You can use your text structure chart.

Language: p.238-239 #1-19 – answers only

Language: p. 240-241 #16-20 – answers only



Mon., Jan. 28
Due Date: 1/28/2019
Subject: English 6

 

Bell ringer:   Make Inferences “A Little Can Go A Long Way”

Interactive Achievement (Tazewell.k12.va.us/ students/ interactive achievement/ CIP Unit 2 assessment)